Canadian Council of the Blind

Toll-Free: 1 877-304-0968

Board of Directors


National President – Jim Tokos: Jim has over 40 years experience as a leader in private and non-profit positions. Hailing from Hamilton, Ontario Jim is currently serving his second term as CCB National President. Jim believes in flexibly supporting the CCB community to ensure strategic goals are consistently met, and that the needs of CCB members should determine the direction of the Council. “I look forward to continuing this role in supporting the long-term viability of the organization, ensuring we remain well represented to be leaders in the community we represent.” 

1st Vice – Leslie Yee:  Proud Peterborough Chapter Chair, Leslie joins the board this term as the 1st vice president. Leslie also has experience serving on the CCB Membership Committee, CCB Advocacy Committee, and has represented the Canadian Council of the Blind on countless external committees and subcommittees. Leslie spent her career developing leadership skills that will no doubt prove invaluable in her role as 1st president on the Council board. 

2nd Vice – Leo Bissonnette: Leo has been involved with the CCB for over 50 years. His background in financial literacy, governance and ethics, risk management, strategic planning, and leadership has led to Leo being included on a number of vision-related boards and committees, including numerous terms on the CCB board. Leo resides in the Montreal area and before retiring worked as the manager of the Access Centre for Students with Disabilities (ACSD) at Concordia University. 

3rd Vice – Surander Singh: Surander first joined the CCB through his local Kamloops Chapter in 2017. Surander has experience in financial planning and risk management that make him a valuable part of the CCB board. Surander is known for his problem solving skills and prides himself on being a collaborator.


Heather Hannett: Heather has been part of the Canadian Council of the Blind since the 1980’s. Heather hails from Alberta where she is a proud member of the CCB Calgary Chapter. Heather’s passion is in working with youth living with sight loss, where she has inspired countless university students to succeed. “I enjoy being part of the CCB Membership Committee where we can learn from others what works in each Province.” Heather is looking forward to serving her term on the board and to be part of the growth of the organization moving forward. 


Heidi White: Heidi is a long serving member of the Canadian Council of the Blind. She has been involved in the CCB Advocacy Committee, CCB National Membership Committee, and CCB ASRW Committee. Heidi is also a Smartlife Coach and has experience mentoring members of the CCB community and advocating for our organization. Heidi is a proud Islander and her chapter has hosted the annual Atlantic Sports and Recreation Weekend in Summerside PEI for Atlantic members.  


Sara Batt: Sara is a returning board member who has also been a part of the National Advocacy Committee. Residing in British Columbia Sara has a passion for technology, travel, and accessibility. Through her experiences traveling the country, Sara has an extensive knowledge of various accessibility measures available to private and public organizations across Canada. Her current position in the technology industry makes her a valuable asset to the CCB Board. 


Lori Shea: In her first term on the CCB Board, Lori is excited to represent Newfoundland and Labrador on the national board. Lori is a strong advocate for individuals living with sight loss, which is evident in her previous roles and responsibilities as part of her local chapter. Lori has served in a number of other board and leadership roles before joining the CCB board of directors, which has allowed her to hone her skills as a leader, effective collaborator, and strategic thinker. 


Michelle Batram: Michelle hails from Sydney, NS and has worked on various CCB initiatives and events, including chairing the CCB Crafts & Hobbies Chapter. 


Sharon Ruttan: For almost 30 years Sharon has been involved in the sight loss community, working with CCB as well as various other partner organizations. Sharon is a technology enthusiast who loves learning to use the latest gadgets as they become available. Sharon is an ambassador for those living with sight loss and has represented the community at special events, schools, information fairs and special interest groups and meetings. Sharon has previously served on the CCB advocacy committee and as a long time guide dog handler enjoys interacting with people when asked about her experience with her guide dog. Sharon currently resides in Hamilton and looks forward to representing southern Ontario as part of the CCB board.  

Together with your support, we can bring a brighter future

Help us get better care for Canadians living with eye related illnesses.
Scroll to Top
Skip to content